Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Local Administrative Judges

As you may know, there are nine regional presiding judges in Texas, who are the backbone of judicial administration in the state. In addition, every county in Texas has a local administrative district judge and, if there is a county court at law, a local administrative CCL judge, serving a two-year term in that position. Most duties of LAJs are enumerated in §74.092 Government Code:

1.implement and execute the local rules of administration, including the assignment, docketing, transfer, and hearing of cases;
2.appoint any special or standing committees necessary or desirable for court management and administration;
3.promulgate local rules of administration if the other judges do not act by a majority vote;
4.recommend to the regional presiding judge any needs for assignment from outside the county to dispose of court caseloads;
5.supervise the expeditious movement of court caseloads, subject to local, regional, and state rules of administration;
6.provide the supreme court and the office of court administration requested statistical and management information;
7.set the hours and places for holding court in the county;
8.supervise the employment and performance of nonjudicial personnel;
9.supervise the budget and fiscal matters of the local courts, subject to local rules of administration;
10.coordinate and cooperate with any other local administrative judge in the district in the assignment of cases in the courts' concurrent jurisdiction for the efficient operation of the court system and the effective administration of justice; and
11.perform other duties as may be directed by the chief justice or a regional presiding judge.

See more on the duties of LAJs on Texas Courts Online.

No comments:

Post a Comment